Juice Fast – Day 2

Today I expected to wake up hungry, groggy, and basically hating life. To my surprise I woke up at 7am with SO much energy and only the usual stomach grumble in the am. The past two weeks I’ve been up till about 2am and waking up around 8:30am groggy as all hell to be honest. So, to wake up today so energized and clear headed was a complete gift.

I took my sister to school around 7:20 picked up my mom to take in her car and we picked up some stuff at Trader Joe’s then I was home to make my morning juice by 9am. Before taking my mom to take in her car I grabbed a glass of water and banana to hold me over until I was able to drag out my Breville Juice Fountain.

Morning Juice:

Blueberries

Oranges

Apple

Carrots

Lemon

Celery

Leaf lettuce

Then I blended in a banana.

I love to use mainly fruits in my morning juice to really kick start my day with some natural fruit sugar and it TOTALLY helped!! I also took some Omega 3 and Flax Seed Oil.

Then I was off to work with more water and returned home around 1:30 where I ate a salad from Trader Joe’s which was their reduced fat Greek Salad. However, I removed the cheese and only used half of the allotted vinaigrette dressing. In the salad was of course greens, cherry tomatoes, red onion. It was small but it felt good to CHEW a salad and gain the benefits of the fiber. Added more Flax Seed oil to this and I was completely satisfied.

Later in the afternoon I made a snack of sweet potato “fries” and I did this by using an egg white (I know that’s not a veggie, don’t hate! It made them crispy) dash of salt, pepper, cayenne pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder. Put them in a 400 degree oven for 25 mins and BAM my addiction to fries was SATISFIED!! They were so amazingly good and healthy. The recipe is recommended on jointhereboot.com Check out the site!!

Took a nap, since it’s my Friday and took a walk with my juice fast partner, Brenda and our friend Iris. We walked for an hour around upland and I retuned home around 8:15pm to make my dinner.

Dinner Juice:

Blueberries

Apple

Orange

Celery

Parsley

Leaf Lettuce

Cilantro

Cucumber

Ginger

I also grilled up an eggplant using EVOO and a mixture of the same spices used for my  sweet potato “fries”. I ended up with SO much grilled eggplant and ate about half of it, and I’m still currently drinking my juice.

Today was easier than expected and even though during the day I had some cravings for fast food and grease I was able to combat those with the snacks and I feel awesome.

Day 3 is said to be the hardest and if you can pass that day then you can finish it.. My day 3 is my day off so I’m a little worried, but here goes nothing!!!

Thanks for reading!

xoxo Megs!

 

About Megan Fitzgerald

This blog started out as a school project and I have been inspired to make it a beauty blog to put myself out there and share my thoughts on things from make-up to life and everything in between. Feel free to leave comments, good and or bad, as I am always looking to improve myself :) A little about me. I am 23 years old and recently graduated from California State Polytechnic University, Pomona in June of 2011 with a BA in Psychology. My passion for hair design and make-up artistry has always had a big part in my life. It started as an addiction, really, and now I am hoping to go to school to become licensed. Some may say "what a weird transition.. degree in Psychology to beauty school?" However, I believe people should follow their passion and their dreams, and this is mine! Life is too short to sit behind a desk! I rather be behind the chair or in front of an individual making them feel truly beautiful inside and out. I mean, hey, a lot of hair dressers I meet swear they are therapists as well ;) Here's to passion!

Leave a Reply

