How To: Depotting Eyeshadow/Blush & Making Personal Palettes.

image

I have a million small eye shadow palettes and I’m sure many of you do as well. I finally decided that condense them all and make my own palettes!

It took me about an hour to do and the supplies I needed were lying around my house.

What you need:

Eyeshadow of course! By whoever, in whatever case, I promise they can be depotted.

Sharp kitchen knife

Flat iron

Wax paper or parchment paper

Hot glue gun

Empty cd cases

You could also put them in magnetic palettes such as z-palettes which are available online and are perfect! If you do magnetic you will need magnet strips which you can get at any craft store and some sort of adhesive so it sticks to the bottom of the shadow or blush.

Step one:
Heat up your flat iron as high as it will go and when it is hot enough cover the hot plate with the wax or parchment paper.

Step two: take the palette and place it on the flat iron over the paper and let it sit for about 5 mins. Check the bottom carefully to see if its hot or beginning to soften. The time it takes for this to occur carries with each brand of shadow.

Step three: this is probably the hardest step. You want to find were the actual shadow pan is connected to the palette and wedge in the sharp knife to separate the shadow pan from the actual palette. Some may be easier than others and be careful to not cut or burn yourself!

Step four: once the shadow is released from the palette get your empty cd case or magnetic palette and determine where you want your shadows to be placed. This is when you can get creative and finally create your own perfect selection of colors!

Step five: put hot glue or magnet on the bottom of the shadow or blush and place it in the palette and TADAA!!!! You’re done!

At times shadows may break but I know there are tutorials on You Tube that show you how to put those right back together! You Tube also has great visuals for how to do this process which is where I learned this.

Have fun and ask any questions if you need clarification!

Xoxo

About Megan Fitzgerald

This blog started out as a school project and I have been inspired to make it a beauty blog to put myself out there and share my thoughts on things from make-up to life and everything in between. Feel free to leave comments, good and or bad, as I am always looking to improve myself :) A little about me. I am 23 years old and recently graduated from California State Polytechnic University, Pomona in June of 2011 with a BA in Psychology. My passion for hair design and make-up artistry has always had a big part in my life. It started as an addiction, really, and now I am hoping to go to school to become licensed. Some may say "what a weird transition.. degree in Psychology to beauty school?" However, I believe people should follow their passion and their dreams, and this is mine! Life is too short to sit behind a desk! I rather be behind the chair or in front of an individual making them feel truly beautiful inside and out. I mean, hey, a lot of hair dressers I meet swear they are therapists as well ;) Here's to passion!

Leave a Reply

