My thoughts on injury + still losing.

image

As I recently shared I have been struck by the sciatica demons of the world and to update you all on my road to recovery… let’s just say I’m going down hill quite literally.

The story –

On Monday I was finally able to walk with out looking like a granny and I had been noticing my whole left leg was pretty weak because the pinched nerve pain would travel all the way down to my foot. I was even comfortable enough to bowl. However at the end of the night while Matt and I were leaving I had an idiot moment and landed on my, now dead left foot, rolled my ankle, landed on my right knee, and then my booty. All the butt padding in the world which I possess didn’t cushion the fall, fail? I think yes. My left foot got the worse though and it instantly swelled up making Matt and I believe I broke it.

The next day I woke up and I was in so much pain I’m sure birthing a baby would be a breeze. My foot was the size of Texas and bending it was soooo out of the question.

Thankfully after a million x rays I was please to hear there weren’t ant fractures or breaks just a seriously messed up foot.

Long story semi short I’ve been miserable and really down on myself… I feel like an idiot for falling, I feel as though I’m letting my work down because I can only work four hour shifts and I limp everywhere. The worst part is, not being able to work out and keep on keeping on with my weight loss goals. I literally break down when looking at the scale.

After my visit with the Dr he added more medicine and ordered me a mri to take a closer look.

There’s some good news however. Past two times I’ve been to the Dr I weight 204. I was down to 202 so I don’t feel TOO bad. I’ve been trying to watch what I eat, I even made my family a healthy dinner because my mom and sister are also on their own personal weight loss journey.

Everyday when they go to the gym I get a little down but I’m really proud of how dedicated they are. Just makes me more motivated to get myself healthy again.

I’ve been considering doing online weight watchers without the meetings. It’s $18 a month and one of my coworkers is having success with it. Best part is, you can eat what you want!!! Just not a lot of it haha. Which is good!!!

Any of you readers tried it? Lemme know and share your thoughts. I’m really interested!!!

I can’t wait to be healed and back on that treadmill but it is a good time to really start looking at my eating habits.

Cuz hey, when life gives you lemons, you better make some low sugar lemonade!!!!

Xoxo

Don’t let anything stop you from goals, even an injury.

The picture is gross and I apologize.

About Megan Fitzgerald

This blog started out as a school project and I have been inspired to make it a beauty blog to put myself out there and share my thoughts on things from make-up to life and everything in between. Feel free to leave comments, good and or bad, as I am always looking to improve myself :) A little about me. I am 23 years old and recently graduated from California State Polytechnic University, Pomona in June of 2011 with a BA in Psychology. My passion for hair design and make-up artistry has always had a big part in my life. It started as an addiction, really, and now I am hoping to go to school to become licensed. Some may say "what a weird transition.. degree in Psychology to beauty school?" However, I believe people should follow their passion and their dreams, and this is mine! Life is too short to sit behind a desk! I rather be behind the chair or in front of an individual making them feel truly beautiful inside and out. I mean, hey, a lot of hair dressers I meet swear they are therapists as well ;) Here's to passion!

2 responses to “My thoughts on injury + still losing.”

  1. Pookie says :

    weight watchers is dandy however, you will have much more success attending meetings. My mom is a lifetime member and lost 30 ish lbs. Even when I had my back injury and surgery I did it and lost weight!

  2. Katie Keating says :

    I love WW. I do the online version and I lost about 15 lbs before my wedding…then I stopped it for two months and gained a bunch back. I just started back on it and I still love it! $18 is nothing in the scheme of things when it’s your health at stake!

Leave a Reply

