My journey, my struggle, my triumph to a healthier me.

image

image

Oh high school, the years when body image haunted us all. I always look back on those days and can’t believe how when I weighed 160 I thought I
was fat. When I had muscles of an athlete, and a nice ass if I do say so myself, and still, I felt gross. Makes me wanna slap her!!! If only I could look back at that person and tell her she looked amazing… Well, it’s five years later, got through high school, got through college, had a few jobs, been unemployed…. Now I’m 23 I have a degree, a job, and an extra 40 plus lbs on me!!!! woah woah, nelly how did that happen????

Honestly, I don’t care how it happened, it did, and what matters now is how I’m going to get healthy again.

So welcome,

This is my blunt, in your face, honest, no holding back journey of how I, Megan, will get to my healthy again!

Here’s how this is going to go

Step one: reveal my true weight… Dun dun dun.. 209, yup suckas, that’s a true, ugly numba!!!

step twos: understand where I want to be… I would love to be 160 again, however, when I set a huge ass (no pun intended) goal like that for myself, well honey, you might as well hang my gym shoes, cuz it ain’t happenin’ that’s for sure!!! So here is my goal, 185 by end of november. Which gives me three full months to lose 24 pounds.

Step three: girl, how are you going to do that!? Well, thanks for asking! I plan on working out at least four times a week focusing on doing cardio and light weight lifting, with a happy ending of sauna, awwww, yes baby, gonna sweat it out!! Also, I plan on seriously cutting my portion size! I’m bad with completely changing eating habits, or cutting food out, but I think I can portion control like a pro, yo.

Good news!!! (this is when you clap) I’ve currently lost seven pounds!!!!! For the past two weeks I’ve been working out and I’ve dropped a few lbs and it makes me giddy! However, I know losing the first few is always the easiest…. So, I really believe this is where my struggle will begin. This is why I’ve decided to share my honest journey with you all, not only to motivate myself but to be an inspiration to others. I’m going to be honest about my workouts, eating habits, my REAL weight and everything in between.

I hope you guys are ready, and I’m here with open ears. Thanks for reading if you did… If you didn’t, meh, I have my number one supporter, ME 🙂

Xoxo

Tags:

About Megan Fitzgerald

This blog started out as a school project and I have been inspired to make it a beauty blog to put myself out there and share my thoughts on things from make-up to life and everything in between. Feel free to leave comments, good and or bad, as I am always looking to improve myself :) A little about me. I am 23 years old and recently graduated from California State Polytechnic University, Pomona in June of 2011 with a BA in Psychology. My passion for hair design and make-up artistry has always had a big part in my life. It started as an addiction, really, and now I am hoping to go to school to become licensed. Some may say "what a weird transition.. degree in Psychology to beauty school?" However, I believe people should follow their passion and their dreams, and this is mine! Life is too short to sit behind a desk! I rather be behind the chair or in front of an individual making them feel truly beautiful inside and out. I mean, hey, a lot of hair dressers I meet swear they are therapists as well ;) Here's to passion!

2 responses to “My journey, my struggle, my triumph to a healthier me.”

  1. Katie Keating says :

    In high school, I weighed 203 lbs, so now that I’m 170 I feel better – but I still feel like that girl in high school sometimes. Weight is a hard thing to control and think realistically about. Good job for setting realistic goals! By the way, I started Weight Watchers and I’m loving it. I can still eat out but it helps me make good decisions and have splurge days. If you hit a plateau, it might be something to think about. I didn’t want to spend the money to do actual in person meetings, so I just do the online stuff. I’m sure the meetings are good, but I’ve got such a hectic schedule that this works just fine for me! Good luck!!

  2. Julie says :

    Thanks for sharing Megan. I am currently trying to jump start my own weight loss efforts. Reading about the difficulties others have make me not feel so bad when it is hard for me to stay on track.

Leave a Reply

