Make-Up Essentials

I know I have a huge box of multiple eye shadows, mascaras, primers, blushes, etc. and I realize that a bunch of the stuff I have bought I haven’t NEEDED, but there’s a few items that are my MUST haves. Especially when I’m in a rush to get out the door to school, or work, for instance.

My most essential make-up item that I need at all times is my mascara, I really don’t go anywhere without at least my mascara on, if I don’t wear it I look so tired! The next item I can’t go without is a light application of any foundation, liquid or powder; especially because I like to keep my face protected from the sun I try to find a foundation that has some sort of SPF in it, if it doesn’t I try to find a moisturizer with SPF in it. This is such an important step in anybody’s routine whether or not you like to wear make-up, it is always smart to protect your skin, especially your face, because it is the thinnest skin on your body and takes most of the damage from the sun that can result in dark spots and wrinkles. Another good thing for anyone to have is a neutral eyeshadow palette, I say this because neutral colors look amazing on any skin tone. Light neutral colors allow for the lid to hide any veins or discoloration, and they can aid in making your eyes look wider and more awake. The darker neutral colors are great for at night to add a bit of dimension or even a smokey eye look. A good neutral palette that I own is from Maybeline and it cost me about $6 and I use it all the time! It has great light colors and some awesome browns and golds to add dimension in the crease or outer corner of your eye, even a pretty green to bring out any eye color!

Those are my four essentials that I feel anyone should have in order to look awake, be protected, and to accentuate the beauty we all already have!

What are your make-up essentials? Any suggestions for anyone who is just starting or do you have suggestions for  the more experienced make-up guru!? Let me know! I’d love to hear your input!

About Megan Fitzgerald

This blog started out as a school project and I have been inspired to make it a beauty blog to put myself out there and share my thoughts on things from make-up to life and everything in between. Feel free to leave comments, good and or bad, as I am always looking to improve myself :) A little about me. I am 23 years old and recently graduated from California State Polytechnic University, Pomona in June of 2011 with a BA in Psychology. My passion for hair design and make-up artistry has always had a big part in my life. It started as an addiction, really, and now I am hoping to go to school to become licensed. Some may say "what a weird transition.. degree in Psychology to beauty school?" However, I believe people should follow their passion and their dreams, and this is mine! Life is too short to sit behind a desk! I rather be behind the chair or in front of an individual making them feel truly beautiful inside and out. I mean, hey, a lot of hair dressers I meet swear they are therapists as well ;) Here's to passion!

Leave a Reply

